1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to secondary navigation
  3. Skip to content
  4. Skip to sidebar

Primary Navigation

Distinguished Faculty Awards

Each year, three faculty members are honored for their commitments to teaching, service, and scholarship/creative expression.

Distinguished Faculty Criteria

Students, faculty and administrators are invited to nominate full-time faculty members for consideration by a selection committee comprised of faculty, administrative personnel, and students. Once the committee receives nominations, finalists are chosen to submit written statements about their teaching, service, or scholarship/creative expression.

Teaching Guidelines: 

  • Be a full-time member of the faculty
  • Have completed at least two full years of service at Malone University
  • Demonstrates knowledge of and enthusiasm for his or her subject matter
  • Constant and continuing attention to professional development
  • Effective classroom presentation including a variety of instruction methods and materials
  • The creation of a classroom climate which acknowledges and welcomes a diverse student body
  • Consistent positive evaluations by students
  • A concerted effort to integrate faith and learning

Scholarship/Creative Expression Guidelines:

  • Be a full-time member of the faculty
  • Have completed at least two full years of service at Malone University
  • Be consistently and actively engaged in scholarly activity
  • This award will be presented to a faculty member whose research, inquiry, or creative activity (e.g., major recital, performance of original composition, art exhibit, etc.) has made a significant contribution in his/her academic discipline

Service Guidelines:

  • Be a full-time member of the faculty
  • Have completed at least two full years of service at Malone University
  • This award will be presented to a faculty member who exemplifies a "servant's heart" through outstanding service at Malone University which extends beyond the classroom (e.g., advising student groups, committee work, etc.).
  • Outstanding service to the community at large.
  • Outstanding service to a local church

Distinguished Faculty Honorees 


Faculty Member



2016 Elizabeth Postlewaite Business & Leadership Service
2016 Diane Chambers Language & Literature Teaching
2016 Allen Plug History, Philosophy & Social Science Scholarship/Creative Expression
2016 Cheryl Russell Adjunct - English Adjunct Teaching
2015 Julia Frankland Business Service
2015 TC Ham Theology Teaching
2015 Jesse Ayers Fine Arts Scholarship/Creative Expression
2015 Frank Alexander Adjunct - Business Adjunct Teaching
2014 Kyle Calderhead Mathematics Teaching
2014 David Entwistle Psychology Service
2014 Eb de Oliveira Psychology Scholarship/Creative Expression


Nicholette Rogers

Natural Science



Marcia Everett

Communication Arts



Duane Watson




2012 Matthew Phelps Psychology Teaching
2012 Diane Chambers Language & Literature Service
2012 Jay Case History, Philosophy & Social Sciences Scholarship/Creative Expression
2011 Greg Miller History, Philosophy, & Social Sciences Teaching
2011 Malcolm Gold History, Philosophy, & Social Sciences  Service
2011 Maria Lam Business   Scholarship/Creative Expression
2010 Dennis Kincaid  Business Teaching
2010 Beth Clark-Thomas Education Service
2010 Scott Waalkes  History, Philosophy, & Social Sciences Scholarship/Creative Expression
2009 David Entwistle Psychology Teaching
2009 Jacci Stuckey-Welling History, Philosophy, & Social Sciences Service
2009 Sean Benson Language & Literature Scholarship/Creative Expression
2008 Andrew Rudd  Communication Arts Teaching
2008 Ann Lawson  Communication Arts Service
2008 Shawn Floyd  History, Philosophy, & Social Sciences Scholarship/Creative Expression
2007 Nathan Phinney Theology  Teaching
2007 Patricia Long Education Service
2007 Aaron Preston  History, Philosophy, & Social Sciences Scholarship
2007 Clare Murray Adams Art Creative Expression
2006 Marcia Everett  Communication Arts Teaching
2006  Steve Jensen  Language & Literature Service
2006  Stephen Moroney  Theology Scholarship/Creative Expression
2005  Diane Chambers Language & Literature Teaching
2005 Bill Quigley Theology Service
2005  Christopher Carmichael  Natural Sciences Scholarship/Creative Expression
2004  Jay Case History, Philosophy, & Social Sciences Teaching
2004  Julia Sampson  Business Service
2004  Duane Watson Theology  Scholarship/Creative Expression
2003  Greg Miller History, Philosophy, & Social Sciences  Teaching
2003  Charlie Grimes Natural Sciences Service
2003  Peggy Halter  Nursing Scholarship/Creative Expression
2002  Pam Hoalt Health Sciences Teaching
2002  Jack Harris  Business Service
2002  Lauren Seifert  Psychology Scholarship/Creative Expression
2001  Jeff Goff  Natural Sciences Teaching
2001  Jane Hoyt-Oliver Social Work Service
2001 Jesse Ayers  Music Scholarship/Creative Expression
2000  Beth Clark-Thomas Education  Teaching
2000  John Geib Theology  Service
2000  Duane Watson Theology  Scholarship/Creative Expression
1999  Stephen Moroney Theology  Teaching
1999  Martha Horst  Nursing Service
1999 Barb Drennan Art Scholarship/Creative Expression