Home / News and Events / News Release

Students Inducted into Sigma Tau Delta

Top students in English were honored for their high academic achievement in ceremonies conducted by the Alpha Rho Iota chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society. In the ceremony on October 18, 2010, 21 Malone University English majors and Integrated Language Arts majors were recognized for their personal accomplishment and awarded lifetime membership certificates and membership pins. 

 The new members are:
Kelsey Case, North Canton, Ohio
Laura Cline, Windham, Ohio
Kate Dodge, North Canton, Ohio
Andilynne Holcomb, Grand Valley, Pennsylvania
Megan McAbee, North Canton, Ohio
Amanda Pigford, Uniontown, Ohio
Ruth Scibiur, Ravenna, Ohio
Alyssa Westfall, Mansfield, Ohio

Also at the induction ceremony, the following members were sworn in as officers of Alpha Rho Iota for fall semester, 2010:

Jessie Patterson, president, Navarre, Ohio
Travis Craig, vice-president, North Canton, Ohio
Kelly McNaull, historian, Ashland, Ohio

Returning officers are:

Kelsy O’Neill, secretary, Medina, Ohio
Katie Woods, treasurer, Columbiana, Ohio

In addition to conferring distinction on outstanding students, Sigma Tau Delta promotes interest in literacy and literature on local campuses and in the surrounding community and fosters the discipline of English in all its aspects, including creative and critical writing. The Alpha Rho Iota chapter has recently been active in social events and a children’s book donation to Aultman Pediatrics.

For more information, please contact Randi Pahlau, instructor of English, at 330-471-8218.